The Week That Was 4/4/2011-4/10/2011

April 11, 2011 § 2 Comments

This was the second of three planned weeks of phase II of my half-marathon training for the Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon in June.  While I completed every work-out, I didn’t dominate them so I’m thinking that I may extend this phase a week.

Looking at this week, on Tuesday, I did a repetition/hill workout and did OK but not great.  I really struggled with my tempo run on Tuesday.  The ideal tempo workout would be 20 minutes at my tempo pace (currently 7:17) but I managed only to do one mile and then a second half mile.  Now, to be fair, this was my first tempo work since last fall so maybe I shouldn’t be too hard on myself but I really struggled with this workout.  My third work-out was a 10 mile long run which I actually over-ran–suppose to do 8:40s but ended up with a 8:28 average.

So overall, I had one bad workout, one so-so workout, and one good workout.  Looking at the schedule, though, Tempo work continues through the rest of the schedule so extending Phase II by a week would really just give me one more rep/hill workout so I’m not sure.  My left hip really bothered me during the disastrous Tempo run.

The good thing is, though, is since getting my Superfeet inserts, I’ve used only my oldest pair of Pegasus and really haven’t noticed an improvement–if anything, they have gotten sorer.  For my long run on Sunday, however, I wore a newer pair and today my Achilles tendons actually feel better than they did Sunday when I work up.  I’ve come up with the theory that new Pegasus provide enough motion-control for me but, as a cushioned shoe, they lose that control more rapidly than a true motion-control shoe.  And as they lose whatever control capabilities my Achilles take the brunt.

That would explain why I get short-term relief from new shoes but it doesn’t last long.  So hopefully switching to a true motion-control shoe will help–maybe I’ll make that more of a priority.  I still have a fresh pair of Pegasus with 0 miles on them that I was going to use before trying something new but maybe that will need to change.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Week That Was 4/4/2011-4/10/2011

  • Hey Matt,
    1. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the feedback!! Ya gotta know that I’m blindly feeling my way through this process, picking up bits of information along the way. I really don’t know which direction I’ll continue in, but one thing I do know, I love to communicate, and interact, and to be sure…lol, I can express myself.
    2. I apologize for not responding to your prior comments, got busy, but that’s no excuse. In fact, after reading your previous, I thoroughly enjoyed reading DC Rainmaker’s review of the latest Garmin. Want one, but it’s not a need, so I’ll flirt with that idea for a while.
    3. Don’t beat yourself up with your training man!!That’s not the way to improve. Instead, review your past data, including rest, nutrition, energy, conditions/variables. Pick the areas to work on, and watch the growth!! But, you knew that already, didn’t you…

    Thanx again for the kind words, and feedback. I value them greatly, and it encourages me to continue on, and hopefully get better, and grow.

    ~Just Norm

  • […] weeks ago was suppose to be my final week of “Phase II” training. But because I struggled the week before, I decided to extend Phase II an extra […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Week That Was 4/4/2011-4/10/2011 at Tundra Running.

meta

